The 1st Annual Environment & Green Friendly Award

Venue: Transcorp Hilton Abuja
Time: 10:00am


President Muhammadu Buhari

His Excellency and Commander in Chief, President Muhammadu Buhari has been nominated for an award based on his being the First President to initiate the flagging off, of the Ogoniland clean-up, as well as being the first President to confer on deserving Nigerians, Green Friendly Awards.

Cross rivers state government


for outstanding efforts in municipal wastes management, conservation of natural biodiversity and development of eco-tourism.

Akwa Ibom State Government

for the construction of the largest Urban De-flooding System in Nigeria.

Chief Olusegun Obasanjo

who has been nominated for an award based on his significant contributions in creating the Federal Ministry of Environment, the First National Park in the Country, his efforts towards ensuring that the Ogoni-land will eventually be cleaned up, and a host of other actions taken, including policies put in place to ensure Environmental Sustainability.

Prince Charles, The Prince of Wales

who will receive an award for his “PRINCE RAINFOREST PROJECT” dedicated to the reduction of deforestation in Africa and other developing nations including Nigeria.

Mrs. Amina Muhammed

as the Nigeria’s No. 1 Environmental Sustainability Ambassador for the promotion of sustainable development through her pioneering efforts for the Ground-Breaking Ceremony for Clean-Up of Ogoniland, the introduction of Green Bond in Nigeria and her subsequent appointment as the Deputy Secretary-General of the United Nations.

Senator Godswill Akpabio

Senate Minority Leader, based on his significant contributions of creating and upgrading facilities aimed at Environmental Sustainability and attainment of Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs).


Mr Peter Obi

for his implementation of the millennium Development Goals (MDGs) in Anambra State when he was the governor

Hajiya Aishatu Jibril Dukku

a member of Federal House of Representative representing Dukku/Nafada Federal Constituency (Gombe State) as a Notable Legislator for her tree planting efforts to curtail erosion and desertification in her community. She actively participated in the planting of more than 2,000 seedlings of cashew, mango, guava and date trees with a promise to further distribute another 250,000 seedlings to the constituency every year.

Chief Newton Jibunoh

Lifetime Environmental Sustainability Award for crossing the Sahara Desert repeatedly by road in order to create awareness on Desert Encroachment in Africa.

Professor Abdullahi Mahdi

For his love for nature and passion for Environmental and Green friendly activities as exhibited in: Ahmadu Bello University (1996 – 2004), and the Gombe State University (2005 – 2014), his spreading part of his salary over the years for the greening of the environment in Zaria and Gombe, and sponsoring many individuals and groups to receive environmental education.

Air Commodore Bernard NimfaBanfa.rtd, (Makaman Langtang).

Commissioner Representative, North Central. Niger Delta Development Company (NDDC), Port Harcourt for his humanitarian gesture toward the attainment of the SDGs, in his community.